Poems for Dad

My Dad died last Sunday,over the last week i wrote a few poems, one was even on pamphlet at the funeral .Let .me know what you think

HOME
Eleven weeks you were gone
But now you are home
No longer all alone
Surrounded by family and friends.
The way you always was.
This is where you belong
Here in the house you and I built
And the home you built.
======================
Stone cold only sixty eight years old.
Life is not always fair
For those who shouldn’t
Exit too soon.
But they’re not relay gone
Even if their swan song is sung.
For all you need to is to close your eyes
And think very hard.
There they’ll be
For you to see.
======================

Here at your place of final rest
Surrounded by people you knew all your life
Sure just across is the mother of your wife.
Laying next to the daughter you never knew
But never forgot.

So the time has come
And I’ll try not to cry
So it time for you to rest
To have a cup tea and cigarette
I’m sure you don’t regret
I wont say farwell but just
Slan leat
=====================

I will no longer hear your voice
Or see you smile
But I will not cry
You taught me many things
Did everything.
Came with me to many places .
But now i must face these things on my own
But not alone.
For while you are gone, your not that far away
All i need to do close my eyes and think
And there you will be
With spade and shovel in hand .
========================
The last week seem like a dream
It didn’t fell real
Or so it seems
Life must go on
We will never stop to mourn you.
And we you sons and loving wife
Will never forget.

One thought on “Poems for Dad

Leave a Reply

